CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Pilot Magazine today CLICK HERE

BUDDHA AIR; YETI AIRLINES

PUBLISHED: 13:32 29 June 2011 | UPDATED: 14:09 10 October 2012

BUDDHA AIR; YETI AIRLINES DVD (184 minutes) $30 (plus approx $9 postage) via www.worldairroutes.com

BUDDHA AIR; YETI AIRLINESDVD (184 minutes) $30 (plus approx $9 postage) via www.worldairroutes.com Review by Tony FrenchThe interest here is Nepal and the mountains, rather than the aircraft. In January 2003 Pilot, reviewing the first of this series that I’d seen, I waxed lyrical over the briefings we received from crew and the view we got of the instruments – in a DVD filmed in the aircraft of Bournemouth-based European Aviation. Those crew briefings, from Captain to First Officer, and from flight deck crew to the viewer, are missing on this DVD.

Frankly, these films are little better than amateur videos, albeit with cockpit access and in exotic locations. There is so much I’d like to have been told about operating from a capital surrounded by mountains, and a dirt strip carved from a slope in the Himalayas.

All 24 flights are to or from Kathmandu, the capital – we get to know the roofs of the outskirts quite well – the first 13 in a Beech 1900D belonging to Buddha Air. The first is a local sightseeing flight to Mount Everest and the road to Lhasa and Tibet. Quite a location. The actual flight would have taken 54 minutes; we get 14 minutes.

Flights 10 and 11 introduce us to Yeti Airlines and an Embraer 120 – the first flight is another ‘Everest sightseeing flight’. It's awe-inspiring, though the shine is taken off by marks on the passenger’s window, the wing in the way, and passengers’ voices.

Flights 12 to 24 are in a Twin Otter. This seemed more promising, as three ground crew pushed the aircraft onto the ramp, de-iced (I assume) from a bucket, and a monkey knuckled its way among the adjacent pallets. The destinations, seen as we approach and taxi, are full of rural and highland character: Bhojpur, Meghanly, Lamidanda, Rumjatar, Simara... If only we could have been talked down those steep curved approaches, and seen the charts, to the one-way only strip at PPL (that’s Phaplu) for instance.

You get the picture. Great locales. Fascinating airfields. Missed cockpit opportunities. I’ll be interested to see if the others I’ve selected to review in this series follow the ‘amateur scenic’ or ‘professional briefing’ route.

More from Gear

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

How air-brained are you? Test your general aviation knowledge on matters including safety, history, training or anything related to flying! Compiled by James Allan

Read more
Monday, September 17, 2018

I see you… But do you see me? Part two of our series on electronic conspicuity focuses on the capabilities – and compatibility – of the existing technology

Read more
Thursday, September 13, 2018

What is electronic conspicuity, how does it work and what aircraft equipment is available? – Part one in a new series | By Philip Whiteman

Read more
Monday, July 30, 2018

We’re offering one lucky pilot the chance to win a Yaesu FTA-750 Spirit air band transceiver worth £380

Read more
Friday, May 11, 2018

The online user portal launched in January by NATS promises to make it easier to cross controlled airspace. We put it to the test. Words by Colin Goodwin, photos by Philip Whiteman

Read more
Monday, April 23, 2018

The IC-A25NE is the latest 8.33 handheld from leading manufacturer Icom. Stylish and packed with features including Bluetooth connectivity and the ability to display navigational information from flight plans uploaded from Andriod or iOS devices, it is designed to ‘change the way pilots fly’

Read more
Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Bose has introduced its new active noise cancelling headset for the flight deck, the Bose ProFlight Aviation Headset, a headset described as lightweight and comfortable with three levels of user selectable active noise cancellation

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Pilot weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Most Read


Subscribe or buy Pilot Magazine