Subscribe and receive a FREE Pooleys 2019 Flight Guide CLICK HERE

New EASA licences postponed

PUBLISHED: 12:46 22 May 2012 | UPDATED: 14:15 10 October 2012

New EASA licences postponed

New EASA licences postponed

The introduction of the new EASA pilots' licences in the UK will be postponed until 17 September 2012, according to the CAA.

The introduction of the new EASA pilots’ licences in the UK will be postponed until 17 September 2012, according to the CAA.

The organisation said that due to the complex nature of the transition to a new licence format, as well as alterations to associated requirements and infrastructure, the proposed date of 1 July 2012 was no longer achievable.

However, the deadlines for converting national commercial and private licences to the new EASA licence remain as April 2014 and April 2015 respectively. According to the CAA, an estimated 20,000 national licences will need to be converted within this period – in addition to JAR licences requiring replacement with EASA licences upon expiry or amendment.

Ray Elgy, Head of Licensing and Training Standards at the CAA, said: “We apologise for any inconvenience caused to pilots and organisations that were making plans based on the 1 July date, but we ask them to stick with us while we get this job done properly. It is disappointing that the timetable has moved in this way. However, it is vital that this transition is done correctly.

“The UK will still be one of the very first countries to introduce the new licensing regime and the extended period of transition allows flexibility for many operators and individuals to choose when to convert.”

Some pilots – including those who fly microlights, ex-military and kit built aircraft – will still be able to use their existing licences, as the EASA does not regulate these forms of aircraft.

The vast majority of private and commercial pilots, however, will be required to obtain new EASA licences – which will last for the owner’s lifetime.

The introduction of new pilot licensing rules (including medical certification) throughout the EU is part of the process that has seen the EASA take responsibility for other areas of aviation policy – including flight operations and airworthiness.

The CAA advises pilots to read the more detailed information provided on its website. Click here to visit.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Pilot