PUBLISHED: 09:37 06 January 2009 | UPDATED: 13:56 10 October 2012

BWPA awards ceremony celebrates heroines of aviation

FLIGHT Lt. Michelle Goodman, the first woman to receive the Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC), was awarded the Brabazon Cup, at the British Women Pilots’ Association Awards. She was the captain of an Incident Reaction Team Merlin Helicopter that flew into an extremely dangerous area of Basra City late at night to rescue a casualty. The Jean Lennox Bird Pendant award went to Tricia Nelmes, who has just relinquished the chairmanship of the BWPA after six years. Sally Cluley was awarded the Hilda Hewlett Trophy for gaining a PPL on her seventeenth birthday, having completed the course in the minimum time. The Faith Bennett Navigation Cup was won by Stephanie Wall, winner of the Royal Institute of Navigation Top Nav competition for 2007. Sue Rose received the Naomi Christy Cup, awarded for a flying personal achievement – she starting flying in her sixties, then achieved her IMC in 2008. The Chairwoman’s Challenge Trophy went to Janet Chanides and Beryl Thorp won the Muriel Sells Trophy. The Jack Brackenbury Photographic Trophy was awarded to Veronica Andrews. The BWPA funded two bursaries for members for IMC ratings and one scholarship to an Air Cadet.www.bwpa.co.uk

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Pilot